FBS National Championship

The LSU Tigers win the 2020 FBS National Championsip!

The LSU Tigers win the 2020 FBS National Championsip!

Carson Wood, Scoreboard Editor

On Monday, January 13th, the last two teams in Clemson and LSU faced off in the CFP National Championship. For Clemson this was their 4th National Championship appearance in just the last 6 years. However, for LSU, this was their first ever CFP appearance.

For LSU, they have the 2019-20 Heisman winner Joe Burrow at quarterback who has put up record numbers during his senior year leading them to the 1st overall ranking in the CFP. In the semi-final round of the CFP Joe Burrow was 21-27 passing for 403 yards and 7 touchdowns at halftime. LSU would go on to win the game with a final score of 63-28 over Oklahoma after Burrow was later benched in the 3rd quarter to prevent injury.

“I feel really confident about the game tonight and I feel like Joe Burrow will lead us to a championship.” Said Thomas Rogers (10)

For Clemson, Trevor Lawrence is leading his team at quarterback to consecutive National Championship appearances after they took down The Ohio State Buckeyes in a nail-biter. Last year, Trevor Lawrence was the talk of college football after Clemson blew-out Alabama in the CFP and he has lead Clemson to yet another undefeated season this year. However, Lawrence hasn’t put up as impressive numbers this year, leading people to wonder if Clemson would even be able to compete against Ohio State. Furthermore, Clemson played a very easy schedule nearly lost against an unranked UNC team. Nonetheless, Lawrence led his team to a fierce comeback after trailing the buckeyes 16-0.  Lawrence finished 18-33 for 283 yards and two touchdowns in the upset victory over the Buckeyes.

“I’m nervous about the game tonight but, I believe that Trevor Lawrence is best when he’s on the big stage.” said Harrison Withers (10)

In the National Championship, Clemson came out of the gate quick and jumped to an early 17-7 lead in the 2nd quarter. However, Joe Burrow’s tigers struck back and had an 11 point lead going into halftime. In the second half, Clemson would score a touchdown and get the two-point conversion to make it a 3 point game, but, LSU would end the game on a 14-0 run and defeat Clemson in the National Championship.